Skip to Content

Student Awards to Faculty

Fourth year awards ceremony.
This year’s recipients are Drs. Debora Lee Chen and Glen Ozawa!

This year, Drs. Debora Lee Chen and Glen Ozawa were selected as recipients of the Dr. Michael G. Harris Family Classroom Teaching Award and the Dr. Roy Brandreth Teaching Award, respectively. Drs. Chen and Ozawa were presented their awards at the 2024 Fourth Year Awards Ceremony last month.

The Harris Family Classroom Teaching Award was established by Dr. Michael G. Harris, Associate Dean and Clinical Professor, to honor Excellence in Classroom Teaching and Preparation for the Practice of Optometry at the Herbert Wertheim School of Optometry & Vision Science. Read what the fourth year class had to say about Dr. Chen:

”We have been fortunate to be taught by this year’s recipient in both didactics and in clinic. They have a compassionate and understanding teaching style that made their specialty interesting and approachable. We are incredibly grateful to them and all the knowledge that they have shared.”

The Brandreth Award recipient is chosen by each graduating class and given to the person exemplifying true professionalism and who has most influenced optometry students to strive for clinical excellence. 

Read what the fourth year class had to say about Dr. Ozawa:

”This year’s recipient embodies this and so much more. They have instilled in us that to be a great clinician is to be accountable and to pursue greatness. They have supported us throughout our journey. We will never forget the layers of the retina or to make sure that we have a good, fun, safe day. ”

Congratulations, Drs. Chen and Ozawa!