Skip to Content

Inaugural Advisory Board Meeting

advisory board.
Last week, the school held its first-ever Advisory Board meeting.

The board, comprised of industry leaders and members of the school’s faculty, will provide advice and guidance as the school strives to achieve its mission to advance optometric education, clinical practice, and vision research for the benefit of society. The board’s insight and leadership will enhance our future and ensure the continued academic, research and clinical excellence of the school, and will help the school’s leadership determine our priorities as we move forward into our next 100 years.

The members of the advisory board are:

  • Deanna S. Alexander, OD, FAAO, Berkeley Optometry Alumni Board Member
  • Joseph Boorady, OD, President and CEO, Euclid
  • Jorge Cuadros, OD, PhD, Founder and CEO of EyePacs
  • Sergio Duplan, MBA, President for the United States and Canada, Alcon
  • John G. Flanagan, OD, PhD, DSc(hon), FCOptom, FAAO, Dean & Professor, Berkeley Optometry & Vision Science
  • Millicent Knight, OD, Senior Vice President, EssilorLuxottica
  • Nancy McNamara, OD, PhD, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs & Professor, Berkeley Optometry
  • Jeff Sieve, BS, CEO and President, Haag-Streit
  • Carl Spear, OD, MBA, Senior Vice President, Eyecare-Luxottica
  • Allan Steyer, JD (Chair), Partner, Steyer Lowenthal Boodrookas Alvarez & Smith LLP
  • Ali Tafreshi, Chief of Strategy, Innovation and Clinical Development, Topcon
  • Alan Ulsifer, OD, Founder, Chair and CEO, FYidoctors
  • Jerry Warner, MBA, President, CooperVision
  • Christina Wilmer, OD, FAAO, Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs & Professor, Berkeley Optometry

Click the button below to read about the purpose of the advisory board, and the roles of each member.

Advisory Board