Skip to Content

Fourth Year Student Awards

Kalina Grimm.

Kalina Grimm

Kalina is our 2020 Gold Retinoscope winner, as well as our Beta Sigma Kappa Silver Medalist.

Normally at this time of year we would gather to celebrate and toast the achievements of our fourth year students. While that’s not possible this year, we want to take a moment to recognize the Class of 2020 for their hard work, professionalism, resiliency in the face of the current health crisis, and most of all, their thoughtfulness and compassion, as demonstrated by their generous and heartwarming class gift. While we are disappointed that we are not able to join together in person, we are so proud of this group of extraordinary soon-to-be optometrists and colleagues — you are all invaluable members of our community, and we have no doubt that you will be an indispensable asset to our profession. Congrats to all!

Gold Retinoscope

The amazing Kalina Grimm is our 2020 Gold Retinoscope winner, as well as our Beta Sigma Kappa Silver Medalist. Kalina started her optometric career while a UC Berkeley undergrad by working with the Foresight Club, EyePACS, and Project Vision, a student-run volunteer organization that supports access to vision care. She led the Mixed Student Union, an inclusive resource for multiracial students and allies. In her first three years of Optometry school she traveled with VOSH, served as UCOSA Philanthropy Chair, helped with the Equipment Committee, and led EyeChat to give students more insight into non-traditional optometric career paths. Kalina was also the recipient of the inaugural Alumni of the Year Scholarship as a 3rd year student.

More Awards!

Each year, our partners and friends generously sponsor awards for students who have distinguished themselves over the course of our four year OD program. Congrats to all!

Alcon Case Study Award
Amanda Dieu

The HOYA Student Leadership Award
Justin Duong-Mac

The Bernell Binocular Award
Lucas Wilson

The COVD Binocular Vision Award
Chrystina Yu

Johnson & Johnson Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care
Connie Chen

GP Contact Lens Clinical Excellence Award
Stephanie Tran

Optelec Excellence in Low Vision Award
Isis Topete

The William Feinbloom Low Vision Award
Monica Rani

Robert Greer Excellence in Low Vision Award
Rachel Kim

Bill Mattingly Memorial Scholarship
Rachel Kim

Bernhardt N. Thal, OD, VSP Excellence in Primary Care Scholarship Award
Stephanie Tran

Marvin R. Poston, OD, VSP Excellence in Primary Care Scholarship Award
Rebecca Stapornkul

Graduating with Honors in Research and Clinical Science

Michelle Holmes
Mentor: Sarah Kochick, OD, PhD, FAAO
Title: An analysis of the efficacy of orthokeratology lenses in myopia control efforts in a retrospective study of the UC Berkeley School of Optometry

Danielle Kolschefski
Mentor: Deborah Orel-Bixler, OD, PhD, FAAO
Title: Visual acuity: Comparison of Teller Acuity Cards to the UC Berkeley Grading Cards

Teaching Awards

Voted by the students, this year’s teaching awards go to:

The Dr. Michael G. Harris Award
Dr. Glen Ozawa

The Dr. Roy Brandreth Award
Dr. Sandra Harpster