Skip to Content

COA House of Delegates

Ahmad Ahmadzada receiving his award at the COA house of delegates 2023.
Congrats to our awardees!

This past weekend, the California Optometric Association (COA) hosted their annual House of Delegates back in-person for the first time since the pandemic started! It was a meeting to hear reports about COA’s accomplishments this past year, goals moving forward, and to vote for the next board! On top of that, our school’s very own faculty & students got recognized with awards.

Congratulations to:

  • Dr. Katherine Lai: Young OD of the Year
  • Dr. Jeffry Wu: Young OD of the Year
  • Dr. Marlena Chu: Educator of the Year
  • Dr. Mika Moy: COA Trustee
  • Ahmad Ahmadzada (Class of 2024): George I. Deane Jr, OD Memorial Leadership Award

In other news, a commendation resolution was proposed by the Alameda Contra Costa Counties Optometric Society (ACCCOS) and passed by the house.

A special thank you to the students standing to support the commendation resolution (pictured above):

  • Michelle Hoang (2024), UCB COA rep (pictured right)
  • Jennifer Liang (2025), UCB COA rep elect (pictured left)
  • Ahmad Ahmadzada (2024) UCOSA president (pictured center)

To read the commendation resolution, please click the link below!

Commendation Resolution