Skip to Content

COA House of Delegates’ Award Winners

The 2020 California Optometric Association (COA) House of Delegates met for its annual meeting on Friday, February 21, 2020 in Los Angeles.

What is the House of Delegates?
The HOD consists of COA members from each of the local optometric societies, and all the California optometry schools. As the COA’s official policy-making body, they debate and vote on COA policy resolutions and bylaws amendments, adopt the COA budget, and elect COA’s trustees and officers at the HOD meeting. The amended bylaws are then submitted to be voted on by our state legislators, whom we will have a chance to speak to at COA Legislature Day (April 22, 2020).

Faculty and students.

At HOD, our Berkeley Optometry family claimed several COA awards for 2020. These awards included:

  • Excellence in Optometric Education: Dr. Anne Mika Moy
  • George I Deane, Memorial Leadership Award: Loukia Hadjiyianni (Class of 2021)
  • COA Young Optometrists of the Year (3 of 5): Dr. Jaci Theis, Dr. Marina Rocchi, Dr. Gloria Chow
  • Optometrist of the Year: Dr. John Rosten (Alumnus and Alumni Board member)
  • Paul Yarwood Memorial Award: Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired (The Director highlighted the essential partnership with Berkeley Optometry)

We would also like to recognize outgoing President and alumnus Dr. Ronald G Seger. 

Congratulations everyone! You make us so proud!