Skip to Content

Clayton Radke Awarded Ruben Medal

UC Berkeley professor Clayton Radke has been awarded the Ruben Medal by the International Society for Contact Lens Research. The medal is awarded by vote of the previous recipients to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of contact lens-related research.

The International Society for Contact Lens Research (ISCLR) is a group committed to international communication in the field of contact lens research and related sciences.

The ISCLR was established in 1978 by a group of world leading researchers, including Montague Ruben from Moorfields Eye Hospital in London, who became Founding President. Through Montague Ruben’s involvement, Otto Wichterle from Czech Republic and the father of soft contact lenses, became Patron of the organisation.

The ISCLR recognised that keeping in touch with the latest investigations around the world is essential to the progress of research and product development. While publication or release of information into the public domain often prevents the communication of valuable early stage research results, the closed structure of ISCLR and it’s meeting allows researchers and industry to benefit from international research efforts, and to maintain their links with the forefront of research knowledge.

ISCLR has become a crucial way in which researchers and industry in the field of contact lenses may be brought rapidly up-to-date with important developments and directions.

Previous awardees include:

2017 Nathan Efron
2015 Deborah Sweeney
2013 Suzanne Fleiszig
2011 Desmond Fonn
2009 Graeme Wilson
2007 Brian Tighe
2005 Dwight Cavanagh
2003 Stephen Klyce
2001 Ken Polse
1999 Richard Hill
1997 Miguel Refojo
1995 Donald Korb
1993 Hikaru Hamano
1990 Otto Wichterle
1988 Irving Fatt
1986 Brien Holden
1984 Montague Ruben

More About Clayton Radke