Skip to Content

American Academy of Optometry 2019 Award Recipients

The American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made notable contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

“Our Academy is only as good as the people we honor. In 2019 we are honoring the best; our best teachers, researchers, clinicians, and rising stars of the future,” said Dean John G. Flanagan, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, awards committee chair.

We would like to recognize and congratulate our brilliant Berkeley alumni, students, and faculty. These are our 2019 award recipients:


Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award
Raymond Applegate, PhD ’83

Brien Holden Humanitarian Award
J. Daniel Twelker, OD ’92, PhD ’01

Garland W. Clay Award
Thomas Aller, OD ’83

Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education
Donald Mutti, OD ’82, PhD ’92

Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Design
Robert Kleinstein, OD ’69

Alfred A. Rosenbloom Jr. Low Vision Residency Award
Kenneth Tran, OD ’18


American Academy of Optometry Ezell Fellow
Billie Beckwith-Cohen, DVM, MBA, FAAO


Distinguished Alumni of Honour Award, University of Waterloo
Kathryn Dumbleton, PhD, MCOptom, FAAO

Garland W. Clay Award
Maria Liu, OD, PhD

Garland W. Clay Award
Christine Wildoset, OD, PhD


We would also like to recognize those students who were awarded travel scholarships:

Brazelton Low Vision Student Travel Fellowship
Wai (Tiffany) Fung, Class of 2022

Edward I. Goodlaw Student Travel Fellowship
Joanna Toner, Class of 2021

Educational grant from Johnson and Johnson Vision
Michelle Antonucci, Class of 2022

N. Rex Ghormley Student Travel Fellowship
Betty Li, Class of 2023

Robert D. Newcomb Student Travel Fellowship Award for Leadership
Alison Jensen, Class of 2020

VSP AAOF Student Travel Award
Rebecca Stapornkul, Class of 2020
Stephanie Tran, Class of 2020
Joan Castañeda, Resident

AAOF Student Giving Matching Travel Grant
Samantha Lin, Class of 2022
Thuy Trang Nguyen, Class of 2020

Congratulations everyone!

For more information about the American Academy of Optometry, visit