Skip to Content

Alumni Awards

Two award winners with Dean Flanagan.
Award winner Deanna Alexander.
Dr. DeMartino and two alums.

Alumni Award Winners

At this year’s Berkeley Optometry Reunion and Celebration Dinner, our distinguished alums were recognized for their outstanding contributions. Slide 1: Alumnus of the Year for 2018, Dr. Lewis N. Reich (Center); Slide 2: Dr. Deanna S. Alexander, recipient of the Michael G. Harris Distinguished Service Award; Slide 3: Dr. Robert Di Martino, the winner of this year’s Mert Flom Teaching Award.

Celebrating Our Alumni!

Berkeley Optometry celebrated our 70th Reunion CE event on October 6 & 7, 2018. Over 400 alumni, faculty, students, and friends returned to campus for the Reunion CE Conference, the Sheldon M. Golden Translational Research Conference, an All-Alumni Celebration Dinner at Memorial Stadium, and numerous class-specific events planned by an all-star team of alumni volunteers. 

The weekend offered OD attendees up to 13 hours of CE presented by Berkeley alumni and faculty members. Continuing the tradition established by the Berkeley Optometry Alumni Association, the Reunion CE program also includes award presentations honoring outstanding community members. 

Dean John Flanagan opened the day with the Michel G. Harris Distinguished Service Award presented to an outstanding alumnus for his/her service to the Berkeley Optometry community. The parameters are broad to recognize the myriad ways in which alumni serve the school, from the classrooms of Minor Hall, to their involvement on a national stage. Deanna Alexander, OD ’87, has represented Berkeley Optometry at the highest levels of the AOA, and through her Colorado state and local societies. She stays connected to her alma mater through her service on the Alumni Board, and practices in Fort Collins, CO.  Her volunteer leadership is award-winning, garnering her the AOA’s OD of the Year, the Colorado Optometric Association’s (COA) Optometrist of the Year, and the COA Distinguished Service Award over her 30-year career.

The Class of 1993 celebrating their 25th Reunion presented the Mert Flom Teaching Award to the instructor who most influenced their optometric career. The instructor-honoree is nominated and voted on by the class members from all their past faculty members, CE lecturers, colleagues, and mentors who have not yet won the award. This year’s winner, Bob DiMartino, OD ’84, worked to expand 4th Year clinical rotations nationwide in the early ‘90s because he “envisioned the students’ benefits of gaining exposure to other forms and scopes of Optometry that were not available to California at that time.” This in turn, inspired many of the Class of 1993 to pursue residencies, which was also unusual for the era. Dr. DiMartino was especially humbled to be recognized by his former students, and to be honored among past faculty winners who also taught him before he joined their ranks.

The Reunion CE program closed with the 2018 Alumnus of the Year Award, recognizing one graduate’s outstanding professional and personal achievements. Past winners include practitioners from every mode of practice, unforgettable educators like Dean Meredith Morgan, and former presidents of the AAO and AOA. The 2018 winner Lewis Reich, OD ’88, dedicates his life to educational leadership, bringing up the next generation of great doctors as the current President of Southern College of Optometry. Since completing his PhD at Houston College of Optometry under former Berkeley Optometry Dean Dennis Levi, he has worked in academic and student affairs while simultaneously holding faculty appointments. In 2016 the SCO Board of Trustees unanimously approved his appointment as President of the college. Celebrating this honor with his wife Diane and 30 of his Classmates of ’88 at their own 30th Reunion was surreal, and fun. 

See More Pics!

Visit our Flickr album for more pics from the 2018 celebration!

Go to Flickr

Past Alumnus of the Year Winners

Meredith Morgan
Frederick Hebbard
Rupert Flower
Kenneth Stoddard
Jack Hobson
Meredith Morgan
George Deane
Henry Peters
Monroe Hirsch
Charles Seger
Morton Sarver
Bernard Garrett
Merton Flom
Herbert Kallmann
Gordon Duffy
George (Bradley) Barnes
James Crosby
Harvey Arnold
Joseph Farrington
Ferd Elvin
Bernice Flom-Warnken
Frank Johnson
Richard Peters
Edwin Mehr
Benjamin Nerenberg
Edward Goodlaw
Allan Freid
Jack Pence
Solon Braff
Robert Lester
Leonard Osias
Roy Brandreth
Bernhardt Thal
Edward Elliott
Lesley Walls
Wilbur Linville
Marvin Kasanoff
L. Bruce Mebine
Weylin Eng
Elwin Marg
Stephen R. Chun
Karen Walker-Brandreth
Takao Shishino
Kenneth Schwaderer
Lee A. Goldstein
Michael G. Harris
Richard M. Hill
Pam P. Fong
Lawrence S. Thal
Lawrence Creasey
Ernest K. Takahashi
Albert Lee Scaief
Karla Zadnik
Dennis Burger
Jorge Cuadros
Patsy Harvey
Barry Weissman
Donald Mutti
Gunilla Haegerstrom-Portnoy
Bernard J. Dolan
Edward J. Revelli
Stanley Woo
Mike Patella
Don Sarver

Past Mert Flom Teaching Award Winners

Mert Flom
Mort Sarver
Karen Walker-Brandreth
Anthony Adams
Karen Walker-Brandreth
A. Lee Scaief
Karla Zadnik
Robert Dister
Edward Revelli
Gunilla Haegerstrom-Portnoy
Michael G. Harris
Lorie Gong
Ian Bailey

Past Michel G. Harris Distinguished Service Award Winners

Pamela P. Fong