The faculty at Berkeley Optometry constitute a prestigious group of educators and researchers. See below for a list of recent awards.

2017 Awards

Marty Banks
Otto Schade Prize
Named after Otto Schade — who introduced linear systems analysis to the study of human vision — this Prize is awarded for an outstanding scientific or technical achievement in, or contribution to, the advancement of functional performance and/or image quality of information displays.

Honorary Professor, Cardiff University
Cardiff University has conferred the honorary title of “professor,” from the school of Psychology, upon Dr. Martin Banks.

Borish Scholar, Indiana University, College of Optometry
Scholars are selected based on their history of providing major research and scholarly contributions related to vision, patient care, clinical research, and of interest to Indiana University’s mission and education.

John Corzine
Excellence in Optometric Education Award
Received the California Optometric Association Excellence in Optometric Education Award.

John Flanagan
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of Waterloo
The Distinguished Professor Emeritus designation is made to faculty members who have had a distinguished record of service in teaching and research in the University.

Suzanne Fleiszig
Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award
From the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies of the American Academy of Optometry, this award was established in 1972 to honor the memory of Max Schapero who was a dedicated member of the Section and the Academy.

Kenneth Polse
Dickson Emeriti Professorship
The award honors an emeritus faculty member who has an outstanding record of post-retirement contributions in teaching, research, or public/university service.

2016 Awards

Dennis Levi
Appointed to National Advisory Eye Council
Professor and former dean of Berkeley Optometry, Dr. Dennis Levi, has been appointed to the National Eye Institute’s Advisory Eye Council (NAEC).

Dennis Levi
Tillyer Award
The Tillyer Award is presented to a person who has performed distinguished work in the field of vision, including — but not limited to — the optics, physiology, anatomy or psychology of the visual system.

Austin Roorda
Alcon Award
“This award is one of the most prestigious and high profile awards within vision research; an exceptional achievement for an exceptional scholar,” says Dr. John Flanagan, Professor and Dean for the UC Berkeley School of Optometry

John Flanagan
Honorable DSc, Aston University
Dean Flanagan received a Hon DSc and addressed the 50th Degree Congregation (Commencement) at Aston University at the historic Birmingham Town Hall.

John Flanagan
Life Fellow, College of Optometrists
The College of Optometrists has invited John Flanagan, dean of UC Berkeley’s School of Optometry, to become a Life Fellow of the College in recognition of the outstanding contribution he has made to the profession of optometry. Specifically, the award recognizes Dean Flanagan’s contribution to research into glaucoma and diabetic eye disease, and to the development of optometric education in the UK and Canada.

Michael Harris
Berkeley Founders Award
Celebrates an alumnus/a or friend who has given long-term distinguished leadership and service to a broad range of academic, athletic, philanthropic, and other programs across the university.

Anthony Adams
Life Fellowship Award, American Academy of Optometry
This award provides recognition to those Fellows who through long-time membership in the Academy have rendered distinguished service to the science and art of optometry.

John Corzine
Excellence in Optometric Education Award from the California Optometric Association (COA).

2015 Awards

Austin Roorda
Garland W. Clay Award, American Academy of Optometry
This award is presented to the author or authors of the manuscript published in Optometry and Vision Science that has been most widely cited in the world of scientific literature in the preceding five years.

Robert Greer
Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award, American Academy of Optometry
This award is presented annually to a distinguished clinician who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to the Academy’s Lectures and Workshops Program.

Jitendra Malik
Becomes a member of the National Academy of Sciences (May 2, 2015)
The nation’s oldest and most prestigious scientific organization recognizes Dr. Malik’s distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

James O’Brien
Oscar for Technical Achievement (March 20, 2015)
Professor James O’Brien was awarded a technical achievement award (sci-tech Oscar) by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Ralph Freeman
Charles F. Prentice Medal Award (August 19, 2015)
The award is considered to be the most prestigious of the Academy’s awards for achievement in research.

Pam Satjawatcharaphong
Named one of two recipients of the Association of Optometric Contact Lens Educators (AOCLE) George Mertz New Educator Travel Award. Dr. Satjawatcharaphong is the Chief Mentor for Berkeley Optometry’s contact lens residents.

Glen Ozawa
Excellence in Optometric Education Award
California Optometric Associations (COA)