Skip to Content
Dr. Fatt in the lab.
Dr. Haegerstrom-Portnoy in 1998.
A student lounge from the 1950s, featuring a group of students sitting down, reading newspapers.
A male doctor performing an eye exam on a male patient in 1940.
A group of students singing outside in 1951.
The optometry library in the 1950s, featuring several students reading.

Historical Awards

Historical awards, many of which are no longer active, are listed here.

Historical Awards

School Awards & Honors

Winners of school awards such as the Tony Adams Lifetime Achievement Award, the Meredith W Morgan Lecturer Award, the Karen Walker-Brandreth Lecturer Award, and recent commencement speakers can be found by clicking the button below.

School Awards

Recent Faculty Awards

The faculty at Berkeley Optometry constitute a prestigious group of educators and researchers. Use the button below to see a list of recent awards.

Recent Awards

Berkeley Centennial Resolution

A commendation resolution proposed by the Alameda Contra Costa County Optometric Society (ACCCOS) regarding the School of Optometry & Vision Science’s centennial, has been approved at the California Optometric Association (COA) House of Delegates (2023). Please click the button below to read the resolution.

Commendation Resolution

Celebrating the Women of Optometry

2020 marked the 150th anniversary of the UC Regents’ unanimous approval of a resolution by Regent Samuel F. Butterworth: “That young ladies be admitted into the University on equal terms in all respects with young men.” The first women were admitted in 1872, and Rosa Scrivner became the first woman to graduate in 1874 with a Bachelor’s degree in Agriculture. Since then, countless women have graduated from UC Berkeley. Staff, faculty, and affiliates have made invaluable contributions to our campus and the world beyond. Berkeley Optometry joins this celebration by honoring the women who have shaped our school, and the field of optometry and vision science. We are featuring an initial group of six of the remarkable women from our community, and will continue to add more in the near future.

Women of Optometry

Berkeley Optometry Timeline

Berkeley Optometry has long and distinguished timeline, starting from 1907 to the present. Use the button below to see our entire timeline!


Hall of Fame

In honor of those alumni and retired faculty whose contributions to the profession of optometry, through service, teaching or research, have been so monumental as to be universally recognized, the School has dedicated its Hall of Fame. These individuals have made contributions that distinguish the University of California, Berkeley, School of Optometry above all others.

Hall of Fame

History Book

Berkeley Optometry—A History, by John Fiorillo, offers a fascinating look into the origins and evolution of a world-class institution. This scholarly and candid chronicle presents, in lively and extensive detail, a revealing exploration of key events that have made Berkeley the premiere institution of its kind. The book also features profiles of many alumni and faculty who are among the visionaries and leaders in optometry and vision science, both past and present.

ISBN: 978-0-9826702-0-0

To order, or for additional information, please contact the Alumni Relations team.