Main Address

UC Berkeley School of Optometry
Minor Hall
University of California
Berkeley, CA  94720-2020
(510)643-5968 (Main)
(510)642-9537 (Admissions)
(510)642-2020 (Eye Center)

People Finder

If you don’t see the person you’re looking for on the list below, try using our people finder.

Find People

Faculty Administrators

Dean
John Flanagan OD, PhD, DSc(hon), FCOptom, FAAO
jgflanagan@berkeley.edu
510-642-3414

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Gunilla Haegerstrom-Portnoy, OD, PhD, FAAO
ghp@berkeley.edu
510-642-9966

Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs; Director of Clinics
Christina Wilmer, OD, FAAO
cwilmer@berkeley.edu
510-642-0945

Associate Dean for Student Affairs; Head Graduate Advisor
Richard C. Van Sluyters, OD, PhD
rcvs@berkeley.edu
510-642-1235

Vision Science Program

Chair, Vision Science Program
Karsten Gronert, PhD
kgronert@berkeley.edu
510-642-1076

Assistant Dean for Admissions, Student Affairs, and Career Services
Sharon Joyce, EdD
sharon_joyce@berkeley.edu
510-642-9537

Faculty Directors

Director, Berkeley Clinical Scientist Development Program
Kenneth A. Polse, OD, MS, FAAO
polse@berkeley.edu
510-642-7745

Director, Berkeley Optometry Online Education
Harry Green, OD, PhD, FAAO
harryg@berkeley.edu
510-642-9803

Director, Clinical Research Center (CRC)
Meng C. Lin, OD, PhD, FAAO
mlin@berkeley.edu
510-643-9252

Director, Digital Health
Harry Green, OD, PhD, FAAO
harryg@berkeley.edu
510-642-9803

Director, NEI Summer Research Program
Christine Wildsoet, OD, PhD
wildsoet@berkeley.edu
510-643-4472

Director, Residency Programs, On-Campus Programs
Kuniyoshi Kanai, OD, FAAO
kunikanai@berkeley.edu
510-642-2020

Director, Residency Programs, Affiliated Programs
Christina S. Wilmer, OD, FAAO
cwilmer@berkeley.edu
510-642-0945

Graduate Advisor

John Corzine, OD, FAAO
corzine@berkeley.edu
510-643-2793

Dean’s Office

Academic Personnel Specialist
Maria C. Alegria
malegria@berkeley.edu
510-642-5617

Executive Assistant to Dean and Director of Events 
Lyudmila Martello
lyudmila@berkeley.edu
510-643-5968

Administration & Finance

Assistant Dean, Administration & Finance
Eric Leal
eleal@berkeley.edu
510-643-0153

Chief Financial Officer
Anna Lim
aylim@berkeley.edu
510-642-2418

Admissions and Student Affairs

Assistant Dean for Admissions, Student Affairs, and Career Services
Sharon Joyce, EdD
sharon_joyce@berkeley.edu
510-642-9537

Director of Admissions and Student Affairs
Heather Iwata
hiwata@berkeley.edu
510-642-9537

Assistant Director of Admissions and Student Affairs
Kait Guthrie
kait.guthrie@berkeley.edu
510-642-9537

Coordinator for Admissions and Student Affairs
Carissa Caloud
ccaloud@berkeley.eduu
510-642-9537

Communications

Director of Communications
Eric Craypo
ecraypo@berkeley.edu
510-468-7687

Student Assistant
Ece Turhal
eturhal@berkeley.edu

Continuing Education & Events

Director of Events 
Lyudmila Martello
lyudmila@berkeley.edu
510-643-5968

Coordinator, Continuing Education & Events
Quelani Penland
qpenland@berkeley.edu
1-800-827-2163

Development & Alumni Relations

Assistant Dean, Development and Alumni Relations
Kristen Williams
kristenw@berkeley.edu
510-642-4491

Associate Director, Alumni Relations & Annual Fund
Rebecca Ricksen
rebe@berkeley.edu
510-664-7626

Director of Philanthropy
Ciel Mahoney
ciel@berkeley.edu
510-642-1877

Facilities

Facilities Management & Safety Officer
Clifford E. Lobberegt
cel1@berkeley.edu
510-643-2689

Assistant Facilities Manager
Augustus Jacobs
ajncali@berkeley.edu
510-643-2602

Meredith W. Morgan Eye Center

Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs; Director of Clinics
Christina Wilmer, OD, FAAO
cwilmer@berkeley.edu
510-642-0945

Clinic Manager
Rob Herrick
rherrick@berkeley.edu
510-642-9039

Clinic Administration Office Manager
Tom Michelsen
tpm@berkeley.edu
510-642-0945

Pamela & Kenneth Fong Library

Librarian
Jeff Loo
jloo@library.berkeley.edu
510-642-1020