Skip to Content

2023 Alumnus of the Year & Scholarship Awardee

Congrats, Dr. Abraham Bromberg and Melissa Rezk!

On Saturday, August 26th, we held our annual Alumnus of the Year (AOY) dinner, where this year’s AOY and AOY Scholarship Fund recipient were announced. Congratulations to 2023 AOY recipient: Dr. Abraham Bromberg (OD Class of 1969), and 2023 AOY Scholarship Fund recipient: Melissa Rezk (OD Class of 2024)!

Please see below for a message from Ciel Mahoney, Assistant Dean of Development & Alumni Relations.

“The AOY Dinner was more than a celebration; it manifested our collective achievements and aspirations as we look forward to the next century of accomplishments. The spirit of camaraderie and shared accomplishments that filled the room was truly inspiring, and a testament to the remarkable community Berkeley Optometry has built over the past century.

To our generous and gracious hosts, Dr. Larry and Esther Thal, thank you for opening your home to our esteemed alums. Your warmth and hospitality set the stage for a memorable evening. Thank you for your continued generosity and investment in the school. Special mention to Dr. Don & Terry Sarver for starting the tradition of the Alumnus of the Year Dinner and for being the catalysts for establishing the AOY Scholarship.

To the DAR team, Sherrie, Samantha, Ben, and Thea (our work-study), your hard work behind the scenes was the backbone of the event. Your efforts, from logistics to execution, were executed with precision and dedication, and we are grateful to you for your unwavering commitment.” – Ciel Mahoney